“Don’t say she lost.”


NYC-205

Susan, the wife of Fat Cyclist, died last evening.  Here are his comments:

http://www.fatcyclist.com/2009/08/05/dont-say-she-lost/

It is worthwhile to live
and fight courageously
for sacred ideals.

O blow ye evil winds
into my body’s fire
my soul you’ll never unravel.

Even though disappointed a thousand times
or fallen in the fight
and everything would worthless seem,

I have lived amidst eternity —
Be grateful, my soul —
My life was worth living.

He who was pressed from all sides
but remained victorious in spirit
is welcomed into the choir of heroes.

He who overcame the fetters
giving wings to his mind
is entering into the golden age of
the victorious.

Composed by Norbert Capek in Dresden Prison in 1941, shortly before he was transferred to Dachau concentration camp, where he died in October, 1942.

 RIP Susan.

All photographs and writing property of LoneStarLifer. 2009.

3 Responses

  1. You’re right…she’s the winner now. She now knows all the secrets that we all just imagine. My sincerest regrets.
    Debbie

  2. I’ve been reading about her ever since you linked to his blog. I love this poem. It says so much, and every time I have come back here to read it today, I have found more meaning. Beautiful.

  3. (PAULA), I Just Read The Rest Of Your Blog About (SUSAN) And Was Heartbroken About Her Passing. I Tried To Read Through (FATTY’s)Blog As Well, But, Couldn’t Quit Crying Long Enough To Finish Reading Everything So, I Will Read The Rest Tomorrow. Thank-You For Sharing (SUSAN) And (FATTY) With Us (PAULA). (SUSAN) Had Such Awesome Strenth And Tenacity Up To The Very End. I Am Lighting A Candle For Her As I Thank (GOD) For The Testimony Of Strength That (SHE) And (FATTY) Have Both Endured During Her Fight Against Cancer. I Have Taken My “GO GIRL” Ring Off Tonight And Have Laid It Beside The Burning Candle Symbolizing The Beam Of Light That (SUSAN) Was Here On Earth And The “GO GIRL” Ring Laying Beside The Candle Symbolizes All Of Us Who Have Our “GO GIRL” Rings And Are Standing Beside That Beam Of Light Tonight In Honor And Recognition Of (SUSAN’s) Life. When The Candle Burns Out, It Symbolizes (SUSAN’s) Spirit As She Let Go Of Our Hands And Turned To Smile And Wave Goodbye As She Crossed Over Into The Presence And Light Of (GOD’s) Glory. After I Thank (GOD) For Her Life, I Will Slip My “GO GIRL” Ring Back On Tomorrow As I Continue To Pray For Our Precious (PAULA H) Every Day. Please Let Me Know How She Is Doing. (GOD) Bless You (PAULA)! Love, BEN~

Leave a Reply

