Cleaning for a Reason.


Image by FlamingText.com

Image by FlamingText.com

Unfortunately, breast cancer and I are not strangers. She and I have never had direct contact, but she has gotten up in the grill of some of my favorite ladies. For starters, my mom, who is a 6 yr survivor. Both my maternal and fraternal grandmothers. My mom’s sister. My mom’s niece who was my first cousin. Pam. I adored her. Two second cousins (sisters) on my dad’s side.  My dear friend Patricia who had Inflammatory. I’m still not over that one. My dear dear friend B who has dealt with it twice. A co-worker.  My sister-in-law lost her mother to breast cancer at way too early an age. As you can probably guess, I am always looking over my shoulder to see if she’s caught up with me since she’e been so cozy with many of my family.Animated Pink Ribbon
And that’s just breast cancer. Let’s not talk about my loved ones who have battled lung cancer, ovarian cancer, brain cancer, lymphoma, colon cancer. Cancer. Cancer. Cancer. I’ve watched these friends and family go through all sorts of treatment. The illness and treatments are so disruptive to family life, and it can be hard to keep up with little details like cleaning the toilet and dusting the shelves. Well, through a friend (thanks, DS) I found out about a blessing of a service. It is called Cleaning for a Reason.  CFAR (my made up name, not theirs) is a nonprofit which offers free professional housecleaning and maid services to improve the lives of women undergoing treatment for cancer. Any kind of cancer, not just breast cancer. To qualify for Cleaning for a Reason, a woman undergoing cancer treatment is put in touch with the foundation to become qualified. The patient’s doctor supplies a statement to the foundation, who in turn contacts the local cleaning service who then sets up an appointment with the patient for her first free cleaning. The service is available once a month for four months. There are cities and towns all over the country that participate. For more information and to see if help is near you, go to http://www.cleaningforareason.org.

I hope you will share this information with your friends and family by email, Facebook, and Twitter. Maybe write your own blog post to get the word out that there are people who want to help make a cancer patient’s life easier. And if you know of an organization, group or individual who is supporting those going through treatment, post it here in my comments. This information can be of invaluable help to those who are hurting, and literally, fighting for their lives.

 

The Pink Ribbon
Visit The Pink Ribbon!

I wrote about The Army of Women here, if you want more information on breast cancer research.  They need women to participate, whether or not you have had breast cancer. 

All photographs and writing property of LoneStarLifer. 2009.

4 Responses

  1. […] Cleaning for a Reason. « LONE STAR LIFER lonestarlifer.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/cleaning-for-a-reason – view page – cached Published October 6, 2009 Breast Cancer , Go Girl , Women Leave a Comment Tags: cancer, Cleaning for a Reason — From the page […]

  2. I loved this post on breast cancer. Thank you. There’s a book out “Everyday Coupons.” $500 worth coupons, costs $20, and benefits the Komen foundation. Love you!

  3. What a wonderful organization! Thank you for bringing it to our attention and for linking to Party in Pink. I’m glad you joined! I’m sorry breast cancer has affected so many in your family. It’s nice to be able to do whatever we can to help support those we love. Thanks again for the great post!

    -FringeGirl

  4. Thank you for the mention! We just returned from the ISSA cleaning convention in Chicago, IL where we held our 3rd Annual C4R Partner Recognition Breakfast. The room was filled with maid service owners from around the country who have donated their time all year. It was inspiring to say the least. Thank you for your kind words of support.
    Debbie Sardone

Leave a Reply

