The 30-Day Giving Challenge. Day 6. Early Christmas.


Got this tweet earlier this morning:

ExtraordMommy Parents of a little guy w/cancer are hoping for extra holiday cards to celebrate an early xmas. http://ow.ly/zJqA Please RT.

I’ve gotten lots of emails about sending cards, gifts, money to sick children and most are hoaxes or contain very outdated information, so I was skeptical (sorry, Danielle).  I went to the link in her tweet and found that a radio station in Michigan is actually asking for Christmas cards to be sent to a 5 year old boy named Noah who is in hospice care.  His family is having an early Christmas (caringpages requires registration).  His family has a caringpages site set up for him and you can read the heartbreaking entries from his mom describing his pain and her hurts from seeing him suffer.

I will be sending a card to Noah and asking Little J to create a card or drawing to include with my card.  I will also be sending a note to his mom Diana and his father Scott.  I can. not. imagine. what they are experiencing.  Cards can be sent to:

Noah Biorkman
c/o 99.5 WYCD
2201 Woodward Heights Blvd.
Ferndale, MI  48220-1511 

I saw on Noah’s caringpages site that you can donate to The Children’s Hospital of Michigan Foundation, the hospital that has cared for Noah.

I feel very inadequate to say more about this.  I hope you can hear my heart.

The 30-Day Giving Challenge.

All writing property of LoneStarLifer 2009.

 

2 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alyssa, Paula Parks. Paula Parks said: The 30-Day Giving Challenge. Day 6. Early Christmas.: http://wp.me/pyCBa-zN #30dayGC […]

  2. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by lonestarlifer: The 30-Day Giving Challenge. Day 6. Early Christmas.: http://wp.me/pyCBa-zN

Leave a Reply

