600 for Haiti.


Wow.  Well, it’s been a couple of months since I wrestled with this blog.  My last post was on my birthday and I had so much fun celebrating that I’m just now getting back to real life.  NOT.  I did have a nice birthday, and with Thanksgiving coming a week after, then Christmas, school vacation, New Years……I had many nice adventures, a few kinks in the works, some meaningful family time, and welcomed 2010.  Is it twenty-ten or two-thousand-ten?

For my first day back, I want to share what happened yesterday that was spur-of-the-moment and touching.  During Bible study, it was announced that a medical missions team would be going to Haiti this (Monday) morning.  Not the surprise.  It was also announced that space for 600 pounds of medical supplies had been secured on the plane.  Surprise. And it had to be at the church building by 6:00 pm Sunday night.  Surprise.  Big J and I attend the Young Professionals class as we were both single into our 30’s and have a heart for that group.  I took up a collection and my friend “A” and I hit Sams and Walmart Sunday afternoon.  So did many, many others from our congregation.  The first-aid aisle at Walmart looked like locusts had attacked and taken anything not nailed to the counters.  We got alcohol wipes, ibuprofen, antibacterial cream, all sizes and shapes of bandages, gauze, pads and tape, peroxide, children’s pain killers, baggies, sterry strips.  When we got back to the church around 2:00pm, there was already an enormous pile of supplies.

I went back to the building last evening to see if help was needed boxing the supplies, and much was already boxed when I got there. There was quite a bit of professional supplies like syringes and needles, medications, crutches, even a portable IV stand.   I brought my camera and the following video tells you about the day.  I’m proud to be a part of this church family, and give them a Monday Shout Out!  Click on 600 for Haiti link for the video.  The song in the video is from my friends Ken and Marca Young at Hallal Worship.  And yes, Ken, I went to the website and bought it!

600 for Haiti from Paula Fulford on Vimeo.

All photographs and writing property of LoneStarLifer. 2010.

One Response

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Paula Parks and Paula Parks, Paula Parks. Paula Parks said: 600 for Haiti.: http://wp.me/pyCBa-BE […]

Leave a Reply

