2-15-10 Update from Hope for Haiti’s Children


Waiting for food distribution
Stephanie Ariste receiving food
Stephanie is sponsored by Bryan & Krista Williams

Notes on the Ground in Haiti.  Hope for Haiti’s Children.

Haiti Program Director, Debbie Vanderbeek, shares events of the day

This week we were able to get food distributed to the Delmas & Cazeau children on Monday. A few more of the Cite Soleil children came by too. Kerlande, Judith, Lourdine, Katheline, Musset, Gusman, Silionor, Jeff, and Fales all helped divide the rice, beans, oil, sardines, spaghetti and tomato paste into bags for the distribution. Some of the younger children helped by separating out toiletries that my mom and sisters had collected in Vero Beach and shipped via MFI a week ago. Each of the kids who came by on Monday got the large bag of food staples, a toiletry bag with toothpaste, toothbrush, soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion, a granola bar and pack of crackers.

Tuesday, Jean Baptiste and I went and picked up David Senatus and his father. We all went to the embassy to try to get David’s medical visa. It was late when we got there – 11 AM – and when we got there, they had closed for the day already. So we made our plan to meet back at the embassy at 6 AM the next morning.

It was strange to go home in the middle of the day, but I did for an hour or so to get some things caught up (correspondence, organizing, etc) until it was time to go meet with Captain Doyle of the 82nd Airborne.  This meeting was simply to hand over paperwork proving that we are a non-profit organization and for me to sign a claim from the accident Tim had last week with the monster army vehicle.

Wednesday morning we were all in line by 6 AM at the US Embassy. We stood in line a little over 2 hours and then got to the head of the line to be interviewed (outside the embassy) by a consular officer to determine if we would be allowed inside. We were denied. One of our board members has contacted a senator to try to get this surgery pushed through. The senator has supposedly sent the letter to the embassy.   Now we wait.

From the embassy, Jean Baptiste and I went up to Mirebalais where we waited on the lady who told us she had all the food items we wanted to buy in her shop there in Mirebalais. It turns out that she had gone to PAP that morning to get it! So we went to the market and tried to find what we needed. We could only find rice and spaghetti, so we were forced to wait for the shopkeeper to arrive. We finally saw the kids from the Mirebalais & Pageste Schools and delivered food to them. From there we went on to Dubuisson and delivered their food.

My little buddy James was there as usual. James is mentally challenged and the cutest little guy. He is about eight years old and is always there waiting for me, usually with no clothes on. On Wednesday he was neatly dressed and excited about getting some rice. He told me he was going to make some sauce to go with his rice and next time I come he’ll make some for me too. Brandy Gampp is his sponsor, but he always tells all the other kids that I am his sponsor. Then he asks me if his sponsor came. James just started school this year and he seemed to be speaking a little more clearly this time!

James Jean
James Jean
Sponsored by Brandy Gampp
On Thursday, JB & I went to Hinche to deliver food. The schools in the villages did, for the most part, start back up Monday (8th). They are starting back hesitantly. Most people are still too afraid of going into a building and staying for any length of time. We got to the school about an hour before classes were to be dismissed. The food was separated out and distributed without a hitch. I actually made it home before dark!

President Preval called for three days of fasting and prayer and for the nation to repent. He called for everyone to stay home and pray or go to a church service for prayer. People did just that. The Champs Mars public square was filled with people praying as were many other public areas.  People were praying outside their homes and things were closed down for this day. It was also a day of remembrance of loved ones lost a month ago today and mourning. At noon, the official prayer time was over, some businesses opened, and a few taptaps were on the roads–but not many. Tim went to the market to buy rice (I hated to send him on a day like this, but need to get things lined up for tomorrow and when I am gone). I went to the orphanage to start separating food for the Brajirois & Robert distributions tomorrow. Many of my helpers were there once again to help! We got the bags all filled for the schools for tomorrow and also a good many for Alain, a local preacher to hand out to his congregation on Sunday.

God Bless,
Debbie
Ruloph and his mom
Rudolph Jerome with his mother Receiving food and toiletry items
Sponsored by the 37th Street Church of Christ in Snyder, TX

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

10 Responses

  1. What wonderful work is being done for the Haitian children during this time.

    • Yes and this group works so so hard. I have several friends who sponsor children through HFHC. I think when everything settles down my family is going to sponsor a child. My 12 yr old son wants us to adopt a boy and bring him over, but I told him that’s not possible but we could sponsor a boy.
      Thanks for stopping by my site. Hope to talk more with you.

  2. Thanks for sharing this great work they are doing. I know progress is being made and people’s needs are being met one by one. God bless them and the work they do.
    My 14 year old wants us to adopt a child from there too. Our church is doing adoption seminars for people who want to.
    Thank you for coming by my blog.
    ♥ Joy

    • Thanks for stopping by my site. Look forward to meeting you through Texas Blogging Gals!

  3. Paula, you have an awesome blog with purpose. God bless you and your work; our church continues to pray for the people of Haiti and for a spiritual breakthrough there. We are trusting God to do a great work in Haiti.

    • Hey, thanks for stopping by. Our church has been working in Haiti for a long time, now the need is even greater.

  4. Thanks for your comment on my blog! Are you from Snyder? I know people there. The Mills’ family are good friends of ours, and I went to college with Jessica Perkins (now White). Anyway, thanks for the comment love. I’m so amazed at your work in Haiti. You are truly God’s hands and feet. What a blessing!

    • I AM from Snyder. We’ll have to campare notes and see if we have mutual acquaintances. The names you mentioned don’t ring a bell but I’ve been gone from Snyder a really long time. I have lots of friends who have worked with this Hope for Haiti’s Children organization. My family is talking about sponsoring a child when things settle a little. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll be checking your blog out again soon.

  5. Thanks so much for stopping by. I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog. What wonderful work this group is doing in Haiti! I’ll have to look into the Texas Blogging Gals network, sounds like fun!

    • Yes, looking forward to connecting through Texas Blogging Gals. Thanks for coming by.

Leave a Reply

