Happy Texas Independence Day!



(artwork by Little J)

I almost missed posting about this special day, at least to some Texans.  March 2 is Texas Independence Day.  On this date in 1836, the Texas Declaration of Independence was adopted by the Convention of 1836.  While this convention was meeting at Washington-on-the-Brazos, the defenders of the Alamo, including Colonel Travis, Jim Bowie and Davy Crockett, were holding off Santa Anna and his Spanish army.  That siege ended at daybreak on March 6, 1836.  If you ever get the chance, travel to the Alamo for the annual remembrance ceremony at daybreak.  Little J and I went one year and it is still a favorite memory of ours.  I haven’t asked Little J if he can still recall the wording of the letter that Colonel Travis wrote, asking for help, but he used to be able to recite it.  Asleep at the Wheel recorded a tribute album to the Alamo several years ago and the letter is featured.  We played that CD so many times I could even recite the letter.

(artwork by Little J)

I am a 5th generation Texan and love the symbols of Texas.  I’ve incorporated some of those symbols in my Snail Mail Notes inventory, and I’ll continue to do so.  Long Live Texas!

All writing and photos property of LoneStarLifer. 2010.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

4 Responses

  1. It’s nice to see some home grown pride for your home state! And some of your notecards do reflect your state~ so many beautiful things to see…..

  2. Don’t you just love the Lone Star State.

    I know its Spring when the bluebonnets are in full bloom. Oh, I can’t wait for those days.

  3. Our TX Independence day party here in KS was fantastic. We ended up with 99 people this year (up from 25 last year and 5 the year before)!
    It was so much fun.
    We served Shiner beer and Texas lemonade (Margaritas), as well as Dr. Pepper and Diet Dr. Pepper. 🙂
    We hired a Mariachi band this year which upped the stakes! Invited children and hired two sitters as activity coordinators.

    Hopefully we won’t have to change the venue next year! HAHA

    Thanks for sending the fun care-package. The Tx play list was PERFECT!

    • Nikki! I wish I’d known you were having so many folks and I would have sent alot more stuff. I’ll put you on my calendar for next year and be more prepared to send you some goodies.

Leave a Reply

