NAKED body + bath.


As I write this post, I can smell myself.  And I smell ggggoooooooodddddd!

Before Christmas, I bought a Groupon for NAKED body + bath.  (Discussion of Groupon is another post.)  I didn’t know anything about NAKED body + bath, but the Groupon was such a great deal, I thought that even if the NAKED products weren’t that fab, I wouldn’t be out much $$.  I paid $15.00 for $30.00 of product, plus a free personalized scent. 

NAKED body + bath is located in Houston’s Rice Village and originated in the minds of three professional businesswomen.  They wanted to  give their clients a sense of customer fulfillment not found in other bath and body shops.  NAKED products are made in the store and around the United States by women-owned small businesses. (I like that.)  The soaps, bath bombs and skin care products are guaranteed to be 95% natural with no parabens, no Sodium Lauryl/Laureth Sulfates, no Phthalates.  In other words, NAKED.

When you walk into the store, you walk into a calm, chic, well-appointed, comfortable space with a multitude of products to explore.  Some products are ready to pick up and go, such as mint foot products and natural luscious-smelling soaps.  Take your pick of Pink Grapefruit, Almond Joy, Milk and Honey or Lavender (to mention a few) soap, run home, and allow the stresses of the day to be washed away in a long soak.  If you have sensitive skin or prefer your body products unscented, NAKED is your place.  You can pick up bath salts, lotions, balms, shampoo, shower gel, all with no fragrance.  You can see the complete line of products hereThe shop has two chairs and pretty brass foot basins so you can sit, relax and try the products.  I tried a bath bomb, foot scrub and wonderful lotion.  I don’t care for mint but one of my friends who accompanied me sat at the other basin, tried the mint-scented foot products and ended her soak with a mint spray on her feet.  She said it was invigorating.   The third friend in our group tried hand products – soap, scrub, lotion, at a sink near us.  We all came away with soft, exfoliated extremities!The real fun is creating your very own personalized scent and adding it to your products of choice. Trays full of different scents, essential oils, fragrance oils are at your disposal to sniff and contemplate.  The scents are organized in categories such as floral, citrus, food, “rip-off” scents.  You smell away for as long as you like, mixing scents on test strips until you come up with your perfect scent.  My perfect scent was a mix of green tea, crystalized ginger tea and pink grapefruit.  I don’t remember what my friends created, but I do remember peonies being in one scent.  I picked sea salt scrub and lotion to have my scent blended into, and also had a purse-size bottle of scent to take with me.  You can also add color if you wish.  I picked pink.  For the really adventurous woman, you can include sparkles in your blend!

While we were at the mixing bar watching Dena (one of the originators of the shop) blend our NAKED products, a  mom and her teenage daughter came in.  The daughter has her first boyfriend and she wanted to wear her personalized scent for the boyfriend.  Dena said some clients are quite possessive of their blend and do not share with anyone.  She said a sports star who is a NAKED regular is most protective of his particular smell.

After my visit to NAKED, I felt like I had hit the jackpot. Dena was so gracious and patient; she answered our many, many questions. She helped with our foot baths, she made suggestions, she blended our products and stayed after closing time to make sure we were taken care of.  I forgot to charge the battery of my camera and she brought out her Flip movie camera and took some movies.  Later she broke the movies down into individual pictures so I could have shots for my blog.  Talk about service! 

If you are not in the Houston area, you can order online and have NAKED shipped to you.  NAKED keeps a record of your blended scent, so you can call/order online and they will send your exact product.  Hey! Be crazy!  Discover two different scents;  a fun, kicky scent and a demure, understated blend to match your different moods.  I found the products to be reasonably priced, comparable to other similar stores, and to me you really get more for your $ since you are creating the exact product you want. NAKED can also help you throw a birthday or bachelorette party, or just a fun girls night out party at the shop.

Thanks, Dena, for a wonderful afternoon.  NAKED rocks and I am happy to recommend you to my friends.  My two friends who came with me wrote me and said, ” I LOVE LOVE LOVE my fragrance.  And that shea butter lotion is fabulous.”  “When I put the shea butter on my skin at the sink, I couldn’t believe how wonderful it felt.  I’m glad I got the tub.  I’m glad they have excellent products.  I’d like to see them succeed because it is such a neat place.”

What would you smell like if you were NAKED?

NAKED did not ask me to write this review and I was not compensated for writing it.

All writing and photos property of LoneStarLifer. 2010

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

7 Responses

  1. How fun! I hope they put one of these in The Woodlands. I think it would do great here.
    ♥ Joy

    • Or maybe you could have a girls day out into the “city” one day! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. When I come to visit my many IL down there this summer we totally need to get together.

  3. That store sounds awesome! I think it would be a great place for Houston Blogging Gals Get together. Thanks for sharing.

  4. paula you are making me soo jealous. My tired feet need some TLC

    • Come on down to TX and I”ll take you!!!

  5. Hi Paula, thanks for the great thank you. We truly enjoyed you and your gal pals! See you soon! Dena

Leave a Reply

