Flashback Friday.


My blogging bud Bobbi, who writes at kidtogrownup had something on her blog last Friday that interested me. She had a Flashback Friday post. Flashback Friday is the brainchild of Tia over at Christopher and Tia. Go on a flashback with me.

OK, go ahead and laugh.

Are you done?

This was the night of my 7th grade banquet and dance (1969).  I wasn’t allowed to dance, but it didn’t matter.  Nobody was going to ask THIS girl to dance!

I had most of my clothes made as I was tall and off-the-rack dresses were too short for me.  Well, not too short for me but too short for my parents.  That dress was blue dotted swiss.  The fab shoes will be revealed in a moment.

I went to Novene Cox’s beauty shop to have my hair sculptured.  She turned her garage into a shop and she did my mom’s hair every week.  I bought the gold clip at Snyder Drug.  The carnation corsage came from Sis’s Friendly Flower Shop.

That was a real organ in the front living room.  I took organ lessons and knew how to play.  Th front living room was only used for company…..and for my interpretive dances to Glen Campbell singing Wichita Lineman and Galveston.

OK. Ready for the shoes?

I should drag out the diary from this time period and use that for photo narration.  Meh.  That might put you over the edge.

Do you have a Friday Flashback? Flashback Friday Button
Share please.

All writing and photos property of LoneStarLifer. 2010.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

13 Responses

  1. I want those shoes, why couldn’t you dance?

  2. Also loving the clip.

  3. you were rockin this look. i looove the shoes do u still have them? i’m a size 6!

  4. such a cute dress!!! ah love it a lot

  5. Ah yes, I remember those days. I had the same problem, too tall and too skinny for “off the rack”. It’s amazing the fashion world survived the 60’s & 70’s!

  6. hehehe…. the shoes are pretty wild! but i still think you look sweet!!!

  7. Are you kidding me, those shoes are AWESOME! You looked so lovely 🙂 I think it’s a great picture 🙂

  8. what! I think your outfit is absolutely AMAZING!!

    I would have asked you to dance, hahah.

    xx Tia

  9. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by lonestarlifer: Flashback Friday.: http://wp.me/pyCBa-O2

  10. Oooh girl, you were soo stylin ! I had some shoes almost just like those, except mine were orange and yellow. I had another pair like them that were blue and green. Awesome! LOL about getting your hair “sculptured”. I think the diary entries would be fabulous 🙂

  11. Oh Lord have mercy! How do you spell deja vu?! The blue dotted swiss, hairdo, shoes — I was tall, too, and couldn’t find jeans long enough. Mom made all my clothes. Sixties revisited! Only the young retro girls would think those shoes are cool! 🙂

  12. I love the picture. I wore lots of home made clothes too growing up. I wasn’t allowed to dance either. I guess it doesn’t matter since I have absolutely not rhythm. ha. So did you ever learn to play the organ?
    ♥ Joy

  13. i laugh at whitney when she sees clothes just like what i wore in high school and says, “mom look! this is so retro!” i personally love the shoes! and you were way ahead of your time on the “do”……seen the bump it commercials? lol! 😉

Leave a Reply

