Wordless Wednesday. Dedicated to Michael.


From Answers.com: On Wednesdays all over the internet, bloggers post a photograph with no words to explain it on their blog. Hence the ‘wordless’ title. The idea is that the photo itself says so much that it doesn’t need any description.

Normally, I would honor “Wordless Wednesday” but today is a little unusual.  This picture is in honor and memory of Michael Bonine (March 25, 1975 – March 23, 2010).  Michael is the son of a dear friend of mine and he died unexpectedly and much too young.  I babysat Michael and his siblings when they were young, all under age 10, so he has been in my life a very long time.  The word I think of when I think of Michael is steady. Steady as a rock. Whoops, I can’t stop with just one word.  Loyal. Trustworthy. Gentle. Polite. Respectful. Christian. Father. Husband. Son. Friend.  Whenever he saw me, he would make his way to my side, give me a big hug, ask how I was doing and mean it, speak proudly of his wife and 2 young daughters, all with a smile.

I love love love bluebonnets and have told my friends I want bluebonnets in my casket bouquet when I pass.  This picture is my vision of heaven, a continual spring day with bluebonnets in season all the time.  And pie. Lots of pie. With ice cream on top.

Goodnight sweet prince, and flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.  I know your Dad and Papa Bob were waiting for you, along with many others we have loved on this earth.  I told my dad you might be coming and that you two would get along, so I expect he was also there.  I know heaven is rejoicing to welcome you through the gates this night.

Michael’s Caringbridge site is here.

Love to all the family.

All writing and photos property of LoneStarLifer. 2010.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

19 Responses

  1. Very sorry to hear that. What a beautiful tribute, though

  2. An amazingly lush field of flowers almost overpowering in their color gives new meaning to the expression feeling blue. Michael sounds like a wonderful fellow who served his time here on earth so well he need no longer linger among mere mortals.

  3. Lovely tribute.

  4. yes, what a lovely tribute.

  5. Beautiful post and tribute!!

  6. how lucky each of you are to have called the other “friend”. lovely tribute.

  7. Sorry to hear about the lost of a great man. I believe he will always be fondly remembered.

  8. So sad. I am so sorry for your loss. Many blessings to you and his loved ones!

  9. A beautiful tribute. My prayers are with his family and friends right now!

  10. What a beautiful tribute to Michael, and oh so true! Such a precious young man. We will certainly miss his sweet smile and spirit!

  11. My condolences; what a heart-felt tribute!

  12. I know how it is:
    I lost my oldest Son at the age of 40.
    That was on May 18. 2008.
    The very Day after our National Day here in Norway.

    Your tribute to Michael is great.
    The young dead, who we did learn to know, will allways be a part of us.
    I do know.

    btw. If you have time you can go bakc in my blog and read what I did write in May/June 2008. It did help to write about it.

    I’m very “happy” bloggers can share such sad histories.
    It helps us to praise our lifes and not taking life as granted.

    Greetings
    T
    Norway

  13. sorry to hear of your loss. I love that you did this tribute, very heartfelt

  14. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by lonestarlifer: Wordless Wednesday. Dedicated to Michael.: http://wp.me/pyCBa-Ot

  15. Dear (PAULA), Many Prayers For (YOU) And The (MICHAEL BONINE/FAMILY) In The Loss Of What You Have Described As A Wonderful Young Man Who Had A Unique Love For (His/FAMILY & FRIENDS) Because Of His Heartfelt Love For (CHRIST)! I Will Certainly Continue To Pray For All Of You During This Difficult Time Of Heartbreak. I Love You!….BEN~

  16. Oh Paula – I am so very sorry for your loss – what a beautiful tribute to Michael and his family. What a terrible loss for his wife and daughters. My husband is Micheal’s age….I can’t even imagine – my love and prayers with you and his family.

  17. Hugs, know now that he is no longer in any pain and will never fell any pain again. Love and prayers to his family and friends.

  18. Paula,
    I’m crying with you. And rejoicing with you, too. Be blessed, my friend.

  19. […] I really meant to get this post published last week.  But Life said I was needed elsewhere. […]

Leave a Reply

