I {Heart} Faces. My Story In Photos: Dessert Recipe Edition


Looking Forward to Week 14 – My Story in Photos

April 5th – “My Story In Photos: Dessert Recipe Edition”
The first week of each month, Angie & Amy give themselves a “vacation” from going through all of the photo entries. This time we will be featuring a “My Story In Photos: Dessert Recipe Edition.” (Please be sure to still stop by daily because we’ll have other great content all week long.)

Well, I hate to tell you this about myself.  I really don’t cook anymore.  (1) Big J is in our home much more than I, so he has supper on the table each evening when I arrive home from work.  I leave the house early and Big J also makes sure Little J has breakfast before he is off to school  (2) We have not had an oven in a year and a half.  Long story….our house is more than 20 years old and our oven is built into the wall.  For alot of reasons, we have had some setbacks in replacing the oven; finding an oven that fits into the current space has been a major obstacle, and there are others I won’t go into here.  Anyway, I can’t tell you the last time I actually made a full meal on my own.

As you can see from the I ♥ Faces quote above, this week’s assignment was to photograph ourselves or someone creating a dessert.  Since that’s not going to happen at my house, I’m just going to post a picture I took of a favorite dessert of mine.

My friends, The Royer Family, own and operate Royers Round Top Cafe in Round Top, TX.  They run a swingin’ business at their cafe (I just ran my feet off working in the cafe not long ago) and also cater.  This adorable wedding pie is often featured as the groom’s cake at wedding receptions.  (Dear Northern readers: do you have a groom’s cake at your weddings?  I have read it is more of a Southern tradition.)  The pies are a dense chocolate chip pie (like a toll house pie) with chocolate-dipped strawberries placed on the edges of each layer.  This was an outdoor country wedding, it was lots of fun to work with the Royers as they catered the event.

At this wedding, the pie/cake was the actual wedding cake.  Extra pies in many different flavors were also served – pecan, buttermilk, chess, cherry, apple, strawberry-rhubarb.

As I wrote a couple of weeks ago, my version of heaven includes lots of pie, with ice cream on top.  So you can guess that working with the Royers is a real treat for me!  And since I don’t plan on getting married any time soon, maybe I’ll ask for a pie/cake for my next birthday.
Go over to I ♥ Faces to see people who really cook, and take pictures of such.

All writing and photos property of LoneStarLifer. 2010

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

6 Responses

  1. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by lonestarlifer: I {Heart} Faces. My Story In Photos: Dessert Recipe Edition: http://wp.me/pyCBa-Qc

  2. Gorgeous. What a great place. I am glad you have special places like that to go. I think I would be ok without an oven for a week or two but then I would go crazy! : (

  3. Those pie cakes are beautiful. I haven’t seen those before. I’m a southerner and we had a grooms cake, but it was a chocolate cake. I’m trying to remember…..

    Joy

  4. Well this is just lovely! The title caught my eye and still didn’t do this creation justice. Thanks for sharing! I’ll keep it in mind for my upcoming nuptials.

  5. That pie/cake is so unusual and interesting. Went to a wedding two weeks ago, and the groom had homemade chocolate pies instead of a groom’s cake. yum! I’ve also seen a green alligator cake. The groom was from New Orleans.
    Great post.

  6. Wow… best looking and I bet tasting, wedding cake ever….nice work!

Leave a Reply

