Summer Bonding Project with Twitter Moms and Glue Dots


I am a member of TwitterMoms and recently had the chance to get a free selection of Glue Dots Brand Adhesives.

What, you may ask, is Glue Dots.  I’m quoting here:

Glue Dots are a great and safe alternative to typical tapes and glue guns.  They are versatile and work on a variety of surfaces including paper/photos, metal, wood, plastic, textiles and fibers, plastic, foam, and more! Glue Dots are a no-mess solution to all adhesive or glue needs.  Bonding instantly, they require no dry time and provide instant gratification for kids and adults.  Glue Dots provide the strength you need in an adhesive without the mess and dry time of liquid glues.

TwitterMoms and Glue Dots are running a Summer Bonding Project.  Bloggers are asked to use the Glue Dots in all sorts of imaginative ways and creations, and blog about said creations.  Bloggers have posted about making cute note cards, baskets, diaper cakes, foam ornaments, gift boxes, and all sorts of kids crafts (perfect for summer fun).  When I saw the Glue Dots, my mind went to a more practical use: Snail Mail Notes.

My first project was compiling print information about Snail Mail Notes for a blogger who was going to Evo ’10 (social media convention) in Park City, Utah.  I placed a bookmark, gift enclosure card, postcard and postage for the postcard in a cellophane envelope.  I had been puzzling over how to display the postage so that it wouldn’t get lost and cause a little buzz when people saw the envelope.  When my Glue Dots arrived, I found they were perfect for my idea.  I printed business card size cards with my Snail Mail Notes philosophy on one side and all my contact information on the other side.  Then I attached with stamp with a Glue Dot.

I wanted the sample recipients to actually use their postcards and this was an easy way to provide the postage.  The bloggers attending Evo ’10 could mail the postcard while they were at the conference, or get in touch with someone after they returned home.

The second project was something with which I have long struggled.  How to make gift baskets using Snail Mail Notes so that the cards were spaced and displayed, not all clumped together in the bottom of the basket.  I couldn’t use tape or glue, that would ruin the cards or envelopes.  Stuffing some tissue paper in the bottom of the basket and arranging cards around that only goes so far.

So I gave Glue Dots a try.

These particular dots come one per perforated square.  You take one square and pull off the top cover.  (You may wonder why I’m being so explicit….I didn’t read the instructions and was taking the dot off with my fingers and trying to place it flat on the surface.  Was. Not. Working.)

You then place the dot on the paper surface.

Pull the top cover off.


Tah-dah.  The dot is where you want it to be.  No muss, no fuss.


You can now arrange the basket as you like, and it might look as fab as mine!


I am totally sold on Glue Dots (I’m a Facebook fan) and thank TwitterMoms for making them available for me to try.  I am now working on samples for BlogHer ’10 and am excited that I already know how I will be making a look great presentation.


I wrote this blog post while participating in the TwitterMoms and Glue Dots blogging contest to be eligible to receive a $30 gift card.  For more information on how you can participate, click here.  And P.S. to TwitterMoms.  My free WordPress blog will not support the widget designed for this contest since it has Javascript or Flash in it.  I designed my own widget.  Hope that’s ok.
All photos and writing property of LoneStarLifer 2010.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

3 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Paula Fulford, Paula Parks and Paula Parks. Paula Parks said: Summer Bonding Project with Twitter Moms & Glue Dots: I am a member of TwitterMoms and recently had the chance to … http://bit.ly/8Xyt1N […]

  2. That is awesome.

  3. Paula – you amaze me – you know so much about all this twitter, widgets, etc, etc…. I don’t believe I could ever catch up with all you know.

Leave a Reply

